About Us Products Investors And Media Corporate Responsibility Careers Customer Assistance Distributor Network
USA & Canada  
Change Region    
Sustainability  |   Power Store  |   Service Locator  |   Product Registration  |   Suppliers  |   Online Parts and Service   
Home   >   Corporate Responsibility   >   Diversity and Inclusion
Diversity and Inclusion
Diversity and Inclusion Print Print    Share Share

Diversity and inclusion have been a part of Cummins' core values for more than 40 years dating back to our CEO J. Irwin Miller who led the Company until 1977.

Miller believed in the power of listening. He wanted to hear from a wide variety of voices before reaching a decision, believing no single gender, race, or ethnicity had a monopoly on wisdom.

Today, Cummins has a number of women and minorities among its senior leaders including:

  • Pamela Carter - Vice President - President Distribution Business
  • Jill Cook - Vice President - Human Resources
  • Ignacio Garcia - Vice President - Chief Manufacturing and Procurement Officer
  • Richard Harris - Vice President - Chief Investment Officer
  • Marsha Hunt - Vice President - Corporate Controller
  • Marya Rose - Vice President - Chief Administrative Officer

With well over 50 percent of its sales generated outside the United States in 2008, Cummins has a clear interest in diversity. Senior leaders say the Company needs to reflect its increasingly diverse customer base, especially as it enters new markets.

Cummins commitment to diversity has been recognized by the following:

DiversityInc named Cummins to its list of the Top 50 Companies for Diversity for a sixth consecutive year in April 2012.

For the seventh consecutive year, Cummins was awarded a perfect score in the 2012 Corporate Equality Index by the Human Rights Campaign, the largest U.S. civil rights organization for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender employees with more than 1 million members and supporters across the United States. Cummins was one of 190 businesses to earn a perfect score. The award was announced in December 2011.